@exbor’s WordPress.com Blog

Please visit http://capsun.org

Props and Slops: December 22-28

IN MEMORIAM

While most people note the passing of Eartha Kitt, I will mourn the passing of Majel Barrett who died on December 18, but is noted here because I just found out this week.  Other Star Trek fans will know her as the voice of all the Federation starship computers.  As a fan of Star Trek:  The Next Generation, I also know her as Ambassador Lwaxana Troi, mother of Counselor Deanna Troi (a main character).  I will miss the all-too-familiar sound of her voice as the computer, but am glad that her voice may still appear in the upcoming Star Trek movie.

Now, here are the top and bottom performers as I saw them this week:

HAWAII

  • PropsMy brother for flying Mesa Air Group’s go! Airlines for the first and last time!  He did it to save money, like many people do.  But after paying for the first bag fee ($10) and the water ($2) on the flight, he actually paid more than if he had flown Hawaiian or MokuleleDon’t worry, bumping your head into low hanging overhead compartments are still FREE! Obviously, he didn’t read my cautionary tale, but at least he’s taking my advice to not fly Mesa or go!.
  • SlopsThe blackout that caused so much havoc.  And it probably couldn’t have happened at a worse time.  We’re in an economic slump, so we want the few tourists who do come here to have a pleasant experience.  You know, so they’ll come back!

GEEK/TECH/BLOG

  • PropsAT&T, my iPhone, and Twitter for playing nicely with each other to help me and many other Hawaii customers and users during the blackout.
  • Honorable Mention: MacHeist for giving away free Mac software during Christmas.
  • SlopsGoogle Reader for not displaying Capsun’s Corner in more than a few readers this week.  And on multiple occasions mind you.  Mahalo to those readers who made an extra effort to read my commentary.  Just a reminder, I have posted blog entries everyday since the inception of Capsun’s Corner in October.  Not even a blackout has prevented me from posting!  And as I joke with family, friends, and co-workers, “I write them everyday, so you should read them everyday!
  • DIShonorable MentionMy fiancee for reading David Archuleta’s blog instead of mine!  Just the other day she was telling me about an entry he wrote about needing to clean his room and drawers.  I told one of my sisters that this took frivolity to whole new levels.  I even told the fiaancee I was going to give her Slops for this, but the lady doth protest too much, methinks (that’s a reference to Hamlet – Act III, Scene 2).  So, I gave her a DIShonorable Mention instead.

POLITICS/GOVERNMENT

  • PropsPat Robertson – yes, that Pat Robertson (continuing in my odd Political Props to people I’m normally opposed to).  First, for praising President-Elect Barack Obama by saying he was “remarkably pleased” with him.  Second, for describing the current Bush Administration as having “some major goofs along the way.”  Both as reported by CNN.
  • Slops:  In the spirit of Christmas, I’m going to refrain from giving Political Slops this week.  What a nice guy!

That’s it for this week.  Be sure to visit next week for another edition of Props and Slops, my favorite feature on Capsun’s Corner.

Mahalo!

3 Comments»

  quilly wrote @

My house was without power for 19 hours. You should have come by. I would have offered you a nice tall glass of ice cream ….

  laurelle wrote @

lol quilly!

E Capsun, check this out, you can get instant ali`i status!
http://www.mokuleleairlines.com/

  exbor wrote @

laurelle: Thanks, but I think I’ll stick to my Pualani Status on Hawaiian. I just requalified for next year. Although, I’m more than happy to fly on Mokulele for work…just not on go! thank you very much.


Leave a Reply

